Pillow & Post

Nectar Kids vs MLILY EGO (Twin)

Both twins state the same three certifications and a fiberglass-free build. One gives you a year to change your mind; the other gives you a ten-year warranty and no returns once the box is open.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

Buy the Nectar Kids 8" if you are not certain— it is the only children's mattress we cover with a 365-night home trial, and it is the one bed here that can be flipped to a different firmness as the child grows. Buy the MLILY EGO 6" when you already know what you need and the bed is going into a bunk, a trundle or a daybed: it states the same certifications for roughly a third of the money, publishes a ten-year limited warranty the Nectar does not, and tells you plainly that once the box is open there is no return.

That is a sharper trade than it looks. These two twins agree on every material question a safety-conscious parent asks: both listings state CertiPUR-US certified foams, OEKO-TEX Standard 100 fabrics andfiberglass-free construction — all three, in writing, which is rare at any price and rarer on a child's bed. So the comparison is not about what is inside them. It is about height, adjustability, and which piece of paper you get: a trial or a warranty.

Everything below is our reading of the two published listings, read on the dates recorded on each product card. We own neither bed, no child of ours has slept on either, and nothing here is a safety test.

How this is funded: we earn an Amazon commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on support, firmness, material safety and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not slept on these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Nectar Kids 8" Twin Memory Foam (2-sided)

Nectar Kids 8" Twin Memory Foam (2-sided)

The best-documented kids' mattress we found on Amazon, and the only one whose listing pairs a full certification set with a year-long home trial. The flippable two-sided build is the genuinely useful idea: a firmer cradling side for a three-to-seven-year-old, a softer memory-foam side for an eight-plus one, so the bed follows the child instead of being outgrown.

The one with a trial, and two firmnesses
$299.00 · See it on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
MLILY EGO 6" Twin (Green Tea Memory Foam)

MLILY EGO 6" Twin (Green Tea Memory Foam)

The cheapest route onto a certified, fiberglass-free twin, and the one written for bunk beds, trundles and daybeds specifically. You give up the trial period entirely — the listing says so in capitals — so this is the pick when you already know what you are buying rather than the one to experiment with.

The cheapest certified twin, and a warranty
$95.99 · See it on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1The one with a trial, and two firmnesses

Nectar Kids 8" Twin Memory Foam (2-sided)

The best-documented kids' mattress we found on Amazon, and the only one whose listing pairs a full certification set with a year-long home trial. The flippable two-sided build is the genuinely useful idea: a firmer cradling side for a three-to-seven-year-old, a softer memory-foam side for an eight-plus one, so the bed follows the child instead of being outgrown.

Certifications the maker states

Strengths

  • Listing states CertiPUR-US foams, OEKO-TEX Standard 100 fabrics AND 100% fiberglass-free construction — all three, which is rare
  • Two-sided design: firmer side for ages 3–7, softer memory-foam side for 8+
  • 365-night home trial, so a wrong call is reversible
  • Removable machine-washable cover, stain-resistant and moisture-repellent per the listing

Trade-offs

  • Roughly three times the price of the certified budget twins here
  • No warranty term is stated in the listing itself — treat that spec as not published
  • All-foam and only 8 inches, so it is a child's bed rather than one that carries into the teens
TypeTwo-sided memory foam — cradling support side and comfort side
FirmnessNot published
Profile8"
Fiberglass-freeYes
Best forChildren ages 3–12, Back, Side
Trial365-night

Construction. An 8-inch flippable twin: a firmer cradling-support side recommended for ages 3–7 and a softer memory-foam comfort side recommended for 8+. Nectar states OEKO-TEX Standard 100 certified fabrics, CertiPUR-US certified foams and 100% fiberglass-free construction, plus a removable machine-washable cover and a 365-night home trial.

Specs and certifications read from the product listing and the maker’s published line, on August 19, 2026. Certifications are as published by the maker — verify a specific unit with the certifying body (linked in our decoder). “Not published” means the listing does not state that spec.

#2The cheapest certified twin, and a warranty

MLILY EGO 6" Twin (Green Tea Memory Foam)

The cheapest route onto a certified, fiberglass-free twin, and the one written for bunk beds, trundles and daybeds specifically. You give up the trial period entirely — the listing says so in capitals — so this is the pick when you already know what you are buying rather than the one to experiment with.

Certifications the maker states

Strengths

  • Fiberglass-free and CertiPUR-US stated on the listing, with OEKO-TEX Standard 100 named in the bullets
  • 10-year limited warranty published
  • Listing states it suits bunk beds, trundles, daybeds, slatted platforms and the floor
  • Green-tea and gel infusion aimed at the heat all-foam beds usually trap

Trade-offs

  • The listing states plainly that there is NO trial period and opened mattresses are not returnable
  • The bullet describing the internal layers gives thicknesses that exceed the stated 6-inch profile, so the internal build reads as not published
TypeGreen-tea and gel-infused memory foam over a high-density base
FirmnessNot published
Profile6"
Fiberglass-freeYes
Best forChildren, Back, Side

Construction. A 6-inch all-foam twin in green-tea and gel-infused memory foam over a high-density support base, sold for bunk beds, trundles and daybeds. MLILY states CertiPUR-US and OEKO-TEX Standard 100 certification, fiberglass-free construction, a 10-year limited warranty, and explicitly no trial period. The bullet describing the internal layers gives thicknesses that exceed the stated 6-inch profile, so we do not repeat them.

Specs and certifications read from the product listing and the maker’s published line, on August 19, 2026. Certifications are as published by the maker — verify a specific unit with the certifying body (linked in our decoder). “Not published” means the listing does not state that spec.

The specs side by side

Every row below is what the listing states. “Not published” means the listing does not say, which on this page happens twice and in opposite directions.

SpecNectar Kids 8"MLILY EGO 6"
Profile8 inches6 inches
BuildTwo-sided memory foam — firmer cradling side, softer comfort sideGreen-tea and gel-infused memory foam over a high-density base
Firmness statedNot published as a number; sides recommended by age (3–7, 8+)Not published
Foam certificationCertiPUR-US statedCertiPUR-US stated
Fabric certificationOEKO-TEX Standard 100 statedOEKO-TEX Standard 100 named in bullets
FiberglassStated 100% fiberglass-freeStated fiberglass-free
Trial365-night home trialNone — listing states opened mattresses are not returnable
WarrantyNot published on the listing10-year limited
CoverRemovable, machine washable; stated stain-resistant and moisture-repellentNot published as removable
Sold forA child's own bed, ages 3–12Bunk beds, trundles, daybeds, slatted platforms and the floor

The trial is the real argument for the Nectar

A children's mattress is the purchase people get wrong most often, because the person sleeping on it is the least able to tell you what is wrong with it. A six-year-old does not say “this is too firm at the shoulder”; they say nothing, or they stop wanting to go to bed. A 365-night window turns that from a guess into a trial, and it is the one thing on this page the cheaper bed cannot match at any price — MLILY's listing states, in capitals, that there is no trial period.

The flippable build is the second half of the same argument. Nectar recommends the firmer cradling side for ages three to seven and the softer memory-foam side for eight and over, so one purchase covers a firmness change you would otherwise make by buying again. We cannot tell you how different the two sides feel — no number is published for either, and we have not lain on them — but a reversible bed is a hedge, and hedges are worth money on a growing spine.

The warranty is the real argument for the MLILY

Flip the paperwork over and the Nectar loses. Its listing publishes no warranty term at all, which we record as not published rather than assume; MLILY publishes ten years, limited. On a bed that will be jumped on, spilled on and slept on for a decade, a term you can read matters — and under federal warranty law a written warranty has to disclose its terms in plain language and be designated full or limited, which is exactly why the clause is worth looking for. Our warranties and sleep trials guide explains what a limited term usually excludes, and the answer is almost always normal softening.

Then there is the price, which is not a detail at this end of the market: the Nectar runs roughly three times the MLILY. For a bunk bed, a guest room or a trundle that gets slept on twice a month, paying triple for a trial you will never exercise is simply the wrong allocation. That is also the use the MLILY listing is written for — it names bunks, trundles, daybeds and slatted platforms explicitly, which matters because a thin foam twin on slats is the common failure case. Our bunk-bed mattress picks cover the height limit question that goes with it.

Two honest caveats

Six inches is a child's bed, not a teenager's.Both of these are, really — the Nectar is eight inches and all-foam — but the MLILY is the one that will be outgrown first. If the child is nine or ten, you are buying a bed with a shorter remaining life than the warranty on it.

One MLILY bullet does not add up, and we will not repeat it. The listing's description of the internal layers gives thicknesses that total more than the stated six-inch profile. We have no way to resolve that from outside, so we treat the internal build as not published rather than quoting numbers that contradict the product's own height. It is a documentation problem rather than a safety one, but it is the kind of thing this site says out loud.

What neither of them tells you

What is used insteadof fiberglass. Every mattress sold in the US has to meet the federal open-flame standard at 16 CFR Part 1633, and the standard sets a performance requirement rather than naming a barrier material — so “fiberglass-free” tells you what is absent, not what is present. Neither of these listings names the alternative. That is the single most useful question to ask about a child's mattress, and do kids' mattresses have fiberglass is where we work through it, including why a thin cheap twin is not automatically the safer object.

If neither bed is the fit, the third certified twin we cover is the EGOHOME 6", which pairs the MLILY's warranty with a removable washable cover; all three are ranked together in our kids' mattress roundup.

General guidance, not medical advice. Pillow & Post is written by an enthusiast, not a doctor or chiropractor. Back and joint pain can have serious causes — if yours is severe, persistent, or comes with numbness or weakness, see a qualified professional. A mattress is one piece of the picture, not a treatment.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Nectar Kids mattress worth the extra money?

If you are uncertain, yes — the 365-night trial and the two-sided build are both hedges against buying the wrong firmness for a child who cannot describe what is wrong. If you already know what you need, or the bed is for a bunk or a guest room, the extra is buying a trial you will not use and a reversible feature you will not flip.

Do both of these kids' mattresses state they are fiberglass-free?

Yes. The Nectar listing states 100% fiberglass-free construction and the MLILY listing states fiberglass-free, and both also state CertiPUR-US foams and OEKO-TEX Standard 100 fabrics. Neither names the fire barrier used instead, which is the limit of what either claim tells you.

Which is better for a bunk bed?

The MLILY, and it is the use its listing is written for — it names bunk beds, trundles, daybeds, slatted platforms and the floor. A 6-inch profile also keeps the sleeper further below a bunk's guard rail than an 8-inch one, which is the practical constraint people discover after delivery.

Does the Nectar Kids mattress have a warranty?

Not one stated on the listing we read, which we record as not published rather than guessing. What it does publish is a 365-night home trial. The MLILY is the reverse: a published 10-year limited warranty and explicitly no trial.

Can you return the MLILY EGO if your child does not like it?

The listing states there is no trial period and that opened mattresses are not returnable, so plan on keeping it. That is the single biggest difference between these two beds and the reason the cheaper one is the pick for a parent who already knows what they want rather than one who is experimenting.

Is 6 inches thick enough for a child's mattress?

For a child, yes — both of these are sold for children and a 6-inch foam twin is a normal construction for one. For a teenager it is thin, and the taller and heavier the sleeper, the more an 8-inch bed or a hybrid makes sense. The age the bed will be outgrown is a more useful question than the inches.

Sources

  • CertiPUR-US — Frequently Asked Questions — CertiPUR-US certifies the flexible polyurethane foam only, not the whole mattress, and does not address fiberglass fire barriers (accessed July 23, 2026)
  • OEKO-TEX — STANDARD 100 — Textile-safety label: every submitted component tested against 1,000+ harmful substances, with stricter limits the closer the fabric is to skin (accessed July 23, 2026)
  • CPSC — Mattresses, Mattress Pads & Mattress Sets (business guidance) — Mattresses sold in the US must meet the federal open-flame standard at 16 CFR Part 1633, which limits the size of the fire a mattress set produces in a 30-minute test — a performance requirement that does not specify which fire-barrier material a maker uses to meet it (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • FTC — Businessperson's Guide to Federal Warranty Law — Under the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act a written warranty on a consumer product must disclose its terms and conditions in plain language and be designated 'full' or 'limited'; the FTC sets the standards a 'full' warranty must meet (accessed August 19, 2026)

Keep reading