Pillow & Post

Cotton Sleep 11″ Organic Mattress Review

The only bed we cover with no fiberglass barrier and no polyurethane foam anywhere in it — GOTS cotton and wool over GOLS latex and 700 pocketed coils, read against the one thing its listing refuses to publish.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

How this is funded: we earn an Amazon commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Every other mattress on this site answers the material-safety question the same way: there is polyurethane foam inside, and a certification tells you what was and was not allowed into it. The Cotton Sleep 11-inch Organic answers it by not having the foam. Its listing states a 100 percent certified organic cotton cover, New Zealand wool, certified organic latex, 700 individually wrapped coils, and a build made in the USA “without fiberglass or petrochemical polyfoam layers”. That is the strongest materials claim of any bed we cover, and it is why this mattress leads the materials argument on our organic mattress explainer and sits in the organic tier of fiberglass-free by budget.

It is also the most expensive bed on the site, and the one with the thinnest paperwork behind the purchase. The listing publishes no sleep trial and no warranty term — not a short one, none — which is an odd thing to leave out at the top of a price range. This review reads the whole listing as it stood on our access date: what each certification actually covers, what “no polyfoam” does and does not buy you, how a medium tight-top latex hybrid behaves under a bad back, and exactly what recourse you have if it turns out to be the wrong bed.

The only bed we cover that removes both things this site worries about at once: no fiberglass fire barrier and no petrochemical polyfoam anywhere in the build. Organic cotton, New Zealand wool and natural latex over 700 pocketed coils, made in the USA. What it does not publish is a trial or a warranty term, which at this price is a real gap.

Certifications the maker states

Strengths

  • Listing states GOTS cotton and wool, GOLS natural latex, and a build with no fiberglass and no polyfoam layers
  • Wool is naturally flame-resistant, which is how a bed like this passes the federal open-flame rule without a fiberglass sock
  • 700 pocketed coils under a two-layer natural build — more coils than anything else we cover, at a stated 700 lb capacity

Trade-offs

  • Publishes no sleep trial and no warranty term on the listing, which is a documentation gap at the top of the price range
  • The most expensive bed on the site by a wide margin
  • A medium natural-latex feel is firmer and springier than memory foam; if you want to sink in, this is the wrong bed
TypeHybrid — organic latex and wool over pocketed coils
FirmnessMedium
Profile11"
Fiberglass-freeYes
Best forBack, Side, Combination, Hot sleepers

Construction. A queen listed at 80" x 60" x 11" and 92 lb, in two layers over 700 individually wrapped coils: a 100% certified organic cotton cover, New Zealand wool, and certified organic latex. The title states GOTS cotton and wool and GOLS natural latex; the listing states the mattress is made in the USA "without fiberglass or petrochemical polyfoam layers". Re-read 2026-10-03: construction type hybrid, coil type pocketed, "Number of Mattress Coils 700" (the same figure as the stated 700 lb weight capacity, confirmed as a coil count in the listing's own row), top style Tight Top, comfort layer material cotton and latex, care instructions hand wash only, and published safety notes to stay inside the weight limit and rotate periodically for even wear. No sleep trial and no warranty term are stated anywhere on the listing — the Warranty & Support row links out rather than naming one — and the only recourse shown is a 90-day return window, with the item shipped from and sold by Cotton Sleep rather than by Amazon. Availability on that date read "In Stock". Neither certification is accompanied by a certificate number, and no VOC-emissions certification is claimed for the finished mattress.

Specs and certifications read from the product listing and the maker’s published line, on October 3, 2026. Certifications are as published by the maker — verify a specific unit with the certifying body (linked in our decoder). “Not published” means the listing does not state that spec.

Who this bed is for

The buyer whose first filter is what the mattress is made of, and who will not accept “the foam is certified” as an answer. That is a narrower buyer than the one the non-toxic roundup serves, and it is worth being honest about the narrowness. If your concern is the fiberglass fire barrier specifically, several beds at a fifth of this price state fiberglass-free construction on their own listings. If your concern is what you breathe overnight, an emissions standard such as GREENGUARD Gold is the one aimed at that, and this bed does not publish one. The case for paying this much is narrower and sharper: you want the materials themselves changed, not audited.

On fit, the listing’s own firmness field says Medium, and the construction is two layers over 700 pocketed coils with a tight top. That puts it inside the firmness band the evidence favors — a randomized trial in The Lancet found medium-firm mattresses outperformed firm ones for chronic low-back pain, and a later Sleep Health review of controlled trials reached the same conclusion for spinal alignment. A high coil count under a thin natural comfort layer also suits the sleeper who wants support to come from springs rather than from a foam block, which is the argument our memory foam vs hybrid guide lays out in full.

What the listing states, layer by layer

Cotton Sleep publishes a reasonably complete specification block for the queen, and it is worth reading literally rather than from the marketing headline. The queen measures 80" long by 60" wide by 11" thick and weighs 92 pounds. Construction type is hybrid; coil type is pocketed; the number of mattress coils is given as 700; the stated maximum weight capacity is also 700 pounds. The top style is tight top. The number of layers is two. The cover material is 100 percent organic cotton, the fill material is listed as 100 percent natural tree latex, cotton and wool, and the comfort layer material is given as cotton and latex. Care instructions say hand wash only, and the safety notes say not to exceed the weight limit and to rotate the mattress periodically for even wear.

Two things in that list deserve emphasis because they are unusual on this site. The coil count is the highest of any bed we cover — the only other mattress here that publishes one at all states 400. And the fill material line contains no polyurethane at all, which is not a thing we can say about any other mattress in the registry.

What the listing does not publish is just as much of the picture. There is no thickness or density figure for the latex layer, no statement of whether the latex is Dunlop or Talalay, no coil gauge, no wool weight, no ILD or firmness number on a scale, and no country of origin for the latex itself (the bed is stated as made in the USA; natural latex is not grown there). We record all of those as not published rather than estimating them, which is the rule our methodology page commits to.

GOTS and GOLS: what each one actually covers here

The listing title names two standards, and they do different jobs on different parts of the bed. The Global Organic Textile Standard covers textiles: a certified product must contain at least 70 percent certified organic fibers, with restricted chemical inputs through processing and audited supply chains. On this mattress that is the cotton cover and the wool. The Global Organic Latex Standard covers latex: it certifies a finished latex product at 95 percent or more certified organic latex by weight, with limits on harmful substances and emissions. On this mattress that is the comfort layer. Together they reach the cover, the wool and the latex.

What they do not reach is the steel. No organic standard certifies a pocket coil, and none of the ones in play here says anything about support, durability, or whether a bed will help your back. Our certification decoder sets the scopes side by side for exactly this reason: a mattress is an assembly, and a certification covers a component unless it says otherwise.

There is one documentation caveat we will not paper over. The certifications are stated by the maker in the listing title and bullets; the listing does not reproduce a certificate number, a licence ID, or the name of the certifying body for either standard. GOTS and GOLS are both verifiable — certified operations appear in public databases held by the standard bodies — so the free move before you spend this much is to ask Cotton Sleep for the certificate and check it. That is the same skepticism we apply to a budget bed’s fiberglass-free sentence, and a higher price does not earn an exemption from it.

Why GOTS is the one that settles the fiberglass question

Every mattress sold in the United States has to pass the federal open-flame standard at 16 CFR Part 1633, and the CPSC’s own business guidance is explicit that the rule is a performance requirement: it limits the size of the fire a mattress set produces in a test, and it does not specify which barrier material a maker uses to get there. A fiberglass sock is the cheapest way to pass. Wool is the traditional alternative, because it chars instead of melting and resists flame without a chemical treatment.

GOTS matters here because it prohibits synthetic and fiberglass fire barriers outright. That turns a fiberglass-free claim from a sentence a maker chose to write into a condition of the certification it is claiming — and the wool in this bed is the mechanism, not a luxury. It is the same structural argument we make for the Awara Natural Hybrid, and our guide to telling whether a mattress has fiberglass explains why the organic tier is the only place the question stops being a matter of trust.

“No polyfoam” is a different claim from certified foam

This is the sentence the price is really buying, so it deserves a precise reading. CertiPUR-US tests flexible polyurethane foam for restricted content, low emissions and restricted flame retardants. It is a good program and most of our picks carry it. But it is a test applied to a material, and it tells you what was kept out of the foam rather than removing the foam. The Cotton Sleep listing describes no polyurethane layer for such a test to apply to: the fill is latex, cotton and wool over springs. For the buyer who would rather not own the material at all, that is a change in kind, not a better score.

Be equally clear about the limits. “No polyfoam” is not “no chemistry”. Natural latex is a processed product, wool is washed and scoured, and the listing publishes no VOC-emissions certification for the finished mattress — no GREENGUARD Gold, no OEKO-TEX mark, nothing aimed at what the bed gives off in your bedroom in the first month. Natural materials generally off-gas less and differently than polyurethane, and our guide to new mattress smell and off-gassing explains what to expect, but the listing gives you no emissions evidence to lean on. The claim on this bed is about composition. It is not an emissions claim, and we are not going to let it read like one.

The missing trial and the missing warranty

Here is the reason this bed is not our first organic recommendation despite having the better materials story. On our access date the listing stated no sleep trial at all, and its product-information block carried no warranty term — the Warranty & Support row points you to a link for warranty information rather than naming a length or a scope. There is no 100-night window, no 365-night window, and no stated number of years.

What you actually have is the retail return window. The listing’s delivery panel showed a 90-day return window, and the item ships from and is sold by Cotton Sleep rather than by Amazon. Both of those matter more than they sound. A third-party seller handles its own shipping and its own returns, and the object in question weighs 92 pounds and arrives compressed in a box it will not go back into. Before you order, ask who collects it, who pays the freight, and what condition it has to be in — in writing.

On the warranty specifically: under the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act a written warranty on a consumer product has to disclose its terms and conditions in plain language and be designated full or limited. The absence of a term on the listing is not proof that no warranty exists; it means the terms are somewhere you have not read yet. Request them before you buy, and read them for the two clauses that decide whether a mattress warranty is worth anything — the sag-depth threshold and the base-support requirement. Our guide to mattress warranties and sleep trials explains what each usually looks like and why a bed with no published trial puts more weight on getting the firmness right first time.

How the feel should read, and who will dislike it

We have not slept on this mattress, so what follows is a read of the construction rather than an impression. Latex compresses and pushes back immediately instead of slowly taking the shape of a body, so a latex hybrid tends to feel springy and “on top of” rather than cradling. Add a tight top — no pillow-top, no Euro-top, two layers total — and the surface plushness is lower than a bed with a quilted comfort layer at the same stated firmness. Most people will read this bed as firmer than its Medium label suggests. Our latex vs memory foam guide is the right thing to read before committing, because latex is the material most buyers have never actually slept on.

That makes the deep-sink side sleeper the clearest mismatch. If you want your shoulder to disappear into the surface, this is the wrong bed and the plush, fiberglass-free LUCID Bamboo Charcoal is the honest alternative at a fraction of the price, at the cost of the organic tier. Side sleepers who want this bed’s materials and can live with a firmer surface are better served reading our non-toxic picks for side sleepers, which ranks it in context rather than in isolation.

Where the construction should do well is motion between two people. Seven hundred individually wrapped coils is a lot of independent support points, and the listing claims reduced motion transfer on that basis. That is a plausible mechanism rather than a tested result — no maker publishes a motion-transfer figure — and it is the same logic behind the picks on our roundup for couples.

Temperature, and the limits of the cooling claim

The listing pitches breathable cotton, temperature-regulating New Zealand wool and responsive organic latex at hot sleepers, and the product-information block lists temperature regulating among the bed’s features. The honest version: latex is an open-structure material that breathes considerably better than memory foam, and wool genuinely buffers moisture and swings in temperature. But wool regulates rather than cools, there is no gel, no phase-change cover and no cooling technology of any kind here, and no temperature test is published. Expect a bed that does not trap heat the way a dense foam block does — not a bed that feels cold.

Where it falls short

Price first, and plainly. This is the most expensive mattress on the site by a wide margin. If a maker’s written statement of fiberglass-free construction is enough for you, the Zinus Green Tea — the only bed we cover that names the barrier used in place of fiberglass — or the coil-sprung Zinus Hybrid give you a stated fiberglass-free build and certified foam for a small fraction of this. The premium here buys composition and a standard, and it does not buy a better night’s sleep for everyone.

Documentation second, which is the unusual complaint for a bed at this price: no published trial, no published warranty term, a third-party seller handling returns, and certifications named without certificate numbers. Everything we would normally weigh in a bed’s favor at the top of a range is absent here, and the materials have to carry the whole case on their own.

Practicalities third. Ninety-two pounds is heavy for a queen, so plan for two people on delivery day and for a frame that can take it. Care is hand wash only, which in practice means a removable cover is not part of the design — a reason to read our protector picks before the mattress arrives rather than after. And the stated guidance is to rotate periodically; no flipping instruction is published, so treat it as a single-sided bed.

Cotton Sleep or Awara?

These are the only two certified-organic mattresses we cover, and the choice between them is unusually clean because they fail in opposite directions. Cotton Sleep wins on materials: GOTS textiles as well as GOLS latex, and no petrochemical polyfoam anywhere in the build, which the Awara does not claim. The Awara wins on recourse: it publishes a 365-night home trial and a warranty stated for as long as you own the bed, and it costs less. It also has a Euro-top, which most people will find more forgiving than this bed’s tight top.

Our read, and you are free to weigh it differently: take the Cotton Sleep if the whole-product organic textile standard and the absence of polyurethane are the point and you are confident about firmness. Take the Awaraif you want the organic tier with a year to change your mind — while noting the caveat in that review, which is that the Awara listing does not say how its own trial is honored on an Amazon purchase. The by-budget roundup sets both against the beds that make the same claim in a sentence.

Availability, and what to check on the day

On our access date the queen read In Stock at a single listed price, sold and shipped by Cotton Sleep. We do not print prices in copy on purpose — the figure on the card above comes from a live feed and the number in a sentence would be wrong within a week. Check three things on the listing before you order: that the size you want is the one in the buy box, that the seller is still Cotton Sleep (returns differ if that changes), and that the certification wording in the title still reads GOTS and GOLS. A listing is a live document, which is why we re-read them and date every spec.

What we did not test

All of it. We own no unit of this mattress, have not slept on it, and run no lab. Everything above is our reading of the published listing on the date shown, the certification bodies’ own scope statements, the CPSC and FTC guidance we cite, and the general published evidence on firmness and back pain. We do not reproduce the listing’s customer star rating anywhere, because an average of strangers’ scores is not evidence about your spine. Nothing here is medical advice.

General guidance, not medical advice. Pillow & Post is written by an enthusiast, not a doctor or chiropractor. Back and joint pain can have serious causes — if yours is severe, persistent, or comes with numbness or weakness, see a qualified professional. A mattress is one piece of the picture, not a treatment.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Cotton Sleep 11″ Organic mattress fiberglass-free?

The listing states the bed is made without fiberglass or petrochemical polyfoam layers, and the construction explains how: wool chars rather than melts, so a wool layer is how a mattress passes the federal open-flame rule at 16 CFR 1633 without a synthetic barrier. GOTS, which the listing claims for the cotton and wool, also prohibits synthetic and fiberglass fire barriers outright — so on this bed the claim is a condition of the certification rather than only a maker's sentence.

What do GOTS and GOLS certify on this mattress?

Different parts of it. GOTS is a textile standard requiring at least 70 percent certified organic fibers with restricted processing inputs — here, the organic cotton cover and the wool. GOLS is a latex standard requiring at least 95 percent certified organic latex by weight — here, the latex comfort layer. Neither certifies the steel pocket coils, and neither is a claim about support, durability or pain relief. The listing names both standards but does not publish a certificate number, so ask the maker for the certificate if you want to verify it.

Does the Cotton Sleep mattress come with a sleep trial or a warranty?

The listing publishes neither. There is no stated sleep-trial window and the product-information block names no warranty term, only a link to warranty information. What the page did show on our access date was a 90-day return window, with the item shipped and sold by Cotton Sleep rather than by Amazon. Since a written warranty must disclose its terms under federal warranty law, the sensible step is to request the terms before ordering — along with who collects a 92-pound mattress if you return it.

How firm is the Cotton Sleep 11-inch Organic?

The listing's own firmness field says Medium, and that is what we record. Expect it to read firmer than that label suggests: latex pushes back instead of cradling, and the bed has a tight top with two layers rather than a quilted pillow-top, so there is less surface give than on a Euro-top hybrid at the same stated firmness.

Is it a good mattress for back pain?

Its construction is the right shape for it — a medium feel, which the published trial evidence favors over firm, and a natural comfort layer over 700 pocketed coils that hold the pelvis level. Whether it suits you depends more on sleeping position than on the materials, and the absence of a published sleep trial means getting the firmness right first time matters more here than on most beds. Nothing on this page is medical advice and we have not slept on it.

Is it good for side sleepers?

It can work, but it is not the obvious choice. Latex relieves pressure by compressing and springing back rather than by letting the shoulder sink in, and the tight top limits surface give, so a side sleeper who wants a deep cradle will find it firm. Side sleepers who want this materials story should read our non-toxic picks for side sleepers, where it is ranked against softer certified beds.

Where is the Cotton Sleep mattress made?

The listing states the mattress is made in the USA, and the brand section describes it as handmade there. Note that natural latex is not grown in the United States and the listing does not state where the latex itself originates, so we record the assembly location as stated and the latex origin as not published.

Sources

Keep reading