Pillow & Post

Amazon Basics Memory Foam Mattress Review

The cheapest route onto CertiPUR-US certified foam — what you actually get for the money, and the one spec its listing leaves unanswered.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we choose

How this is funded: we earn an Amazon commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

This is the floor of the certified mattress market, and that is meant as a description rather than an insult. If your requirement is “CertiPUR-US certified foam, medium-firm, as little money as possible,” the Amazon Basics bed answers it more directly than anything else we cover. It is a plain gel memory foam mattress with no story attached — no proprietary layer names, no wellness claims, no infusion mythology. For a guest room, a first apartment, or a stopgap while you save for the bed you actually want, that plainness is the feature.

The cheapest way onto certified foam. The listing names CertiPUR-US certified foam and a cooling gel layer, in a plain medium-firm memory-foam feel. It doesn't state a fiberglass position, so if that's your deciding factor, one of the Zinus beds is the safer certified pick.

Certifications the maker states

Strengths

  • CertiPUR-US certified foam named on the listing, at the lowest price here
  • Cooling gel layer takes the edge off memory foam's heat
  • Simple, predictable medium-firm feel

Trade-offs

  • Listing does not state a fiberglass-free build — treat that spec as 'not published'
  • Basic comfort layer; not the pick for serious pressure relief or heavier bodies
TypeCooling gel memory foam
FirmnessMedium-firm (~6.5/10)
Profile12"
Fiberglass-freeNot published
Best forBack, Combination, Lighter and average bodies

Construction. Cooling gel memory foam over a support foam base. The listing names CertiPUR-US certified foam; it does not state whether the fire barrier uses fiberglass, so we mark that 'Not published.'

Specs and certifications read from the product listing and the maker’s published line, on July 23, 2026. Certifications are as published by the maker — verify a specific unit with the certifying body (linked in our decoder). “Not published” means the listing does not state that spec.

Who this bed is for

Budget-bound buyers and secondary bedrooms, principally. It is a medium-firm all-foam mattress, which puts it in the firmness zone a randomized Lancet trial found better for chronic low-back pain than a firm surface, so it is not a compromise on the one variable that matters most. Back and combination sleepers of average weight are the natural fit. If you are furnishing a guest room and want something that will not give a visitor a sore back, or you need a bed this month and the budget is genuinely fixed, this is a defensible choice rather than a desperate one.

What you are giving up, relative to the beds a little further up our Amazon lineup, is comfort-layer depth and any published position on materials beyond the foam certification. That is the actual trade, and it is worth understanding before you decide the price is a bargain.

The spec its listing does not answer

Amazon Basics names CertiPUR-US certified foam. It does not state whether the fire barrier uses fiberglass, so we record that as “Not published” — not as a negative finding, but as a genuinely open question. We think that distinction matters more on a budget bed than anywhere else, because this is the price tier where fiberglass fire barriers are most common industry-wide, and where a maker choosing not to address it is most conspicuous.

If a stated fiberglass-free build is a real requirement for you rather than a nice-to-have, this is the bed to skip. Both Zinus mattresses we cover sit at a similar price point and put the claim in writing — see the fiberglass-free list for the full set, and our certification decoder for why a CertiPUR-US badge cannot answer this question no matter how prominently it appears.

Who should look elsewhere

Heavier bodies, first. An all-foam bed at this price has a basic support core, and past roughly 230 pounds it will compress further and soften sooner than a coil hybrid — which shows up as your hips sitting lower than your shoulders, the exact geometry a bad lower back does not want. Our heavier-bodies picks explain why coils matter at that weight.

Dedicated side sleepers are the second group. The comfort layer is not deep enough to let a shoulder sink meaningfully, so pressure builds at the shoulder and hip — our shoulder-pain pickslead with softer surfaces. And anyone expecting a long sleep trial should check the listing carefully; we record no stated trial for this bed, which means Amazon’s standard return terms rather than a hundred nights to make up your mind.

Getting more out of it

If you buy this bed and find it slightly hard at the shoulder, that is the cheap problem rather than the expensive one. A three-inch topper adds the surface cushioning without touching the medium-firm support that made it suitable in the first place, and the combined cost still lands well under a mid-range mattress. What a topper cannot do is rescue this bed once the foam core softens with age — at that point the support has gone and no amount of surface material brings it back. Our mattress-versus-topper guide covers how to tell the difference, and the topper picks are here.

What we did not test

All of it. We own no unit, have not slept on this mattress, and run no lab. The assessment above comes from the published specification, the certification the maker states, and the general evidence on firmness and back pain. Specs were read from the listing on the date shown; listings change, so verify anything decisive before buying. Our methodology page explains the approach and its limits.

General guidance, not medical advice. Pillow & Post is written by an enthusiast, not a doctor or chiropractor. Back and joint pain can have serious causes — if yours is severe, persistent, or comes with numbness or weakness, see a qualified professional. A mattress is one piece of the picture, not a treatment.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Amazon Basics mattress good for back pain?

For an average-weight back or combination sleeper on a tight budget, it is a reasonable choice — it is medium-firm, which is the firmness the Lancet trial favored for chronic low-back pain, and it names CertiPUR-US certified foam. It is not the pick for heavier bodies or dedicated side sleepers.

Is the Amazon Basics mattress fiberglass-free?

The listing does not say, so we record that spec as not published rather than guessing. The CertiPUR-US certification it does carry covers foam chemistry and emissions, not the fire barrier. If a stated fiberglass-free build matters to you, the two Zinus beds sit at a similar price and put it in writing.

How long will a budget memory foam mattress last?

Less than a premium one, and the failure shows up as softening rather than collapse. A basic foam support core gradually gives way under the heaviest part of your body, which is your hips — so the first sign is usually waking with a lower-back ache that was not there a year ago.

Is it firm enough for a bad back?

It sits in the medium-firm zone, which is the right target for most people with back pain. Whether it feels firm enough depends on your weight, since the same bed compresses further under a heavier body. If you are well above average weight, expect it to feel softer than the rating suggests.

Can I add a topper to this mattress?

Yes, and it is a sensible combination if the bed feels slightly hard at the shoulder. A three-inch topper adds surface cushioning while leaving the medium-firm support intact. What a topper cannot do is restore support once the foam core has softened with age.

Sources

Keep reading